Congestion Mitigation & Air Quality Program

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
2017 CMAQ Banner 

NOACA is no longer accepting applications for its 2019 funding round.

CMAQ Workshop presentation--May 8, 2019

The Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (CMAQ) program provides federal funding statewide for transportation projects located in the largest urban areas of Ohio that improve congestion and air quality.

Program Purpose

The purpose of the CMAQ program is to fund transportation projects or programs that will contribute to attainment or maintenance of the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for ozone, carbon monoxide (CO), and particulate matter (both PM10 and PM2.5).

The CMAQ program supports two important goals of the U.S. Department of Transportation (Department): improving air quality and relieving congestion. The CMAQ program provides funding for a broad array of tools to accomplish these goals. By choosing to fund or sponsor a CMAQ project, a State or local government, transit agency, or other eligible project sponsor can improve air quality and make progress toward achieving attainment status and ensuring compliance with the transportation conformity provisions of the Clean Air Act (CAA).

Eligible Applicants

Qualified government entities, including local governments, regional transit agencies, port authorities, and state agencies, with projects or programs located in the NOACA five-county region of Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, and Medina counties.

Projects may also be advanced and implemented through a Public-Private-Partnership (PPP), as defined in Section VII.C of the FHWA 2013 Interim Program Guidance Under MAP-21. A PPP must include a legal, written agreement between an eligible Public Entity and a Private Entity project sponsor that specifies the roles and responsibilities of the participating parties. The Local Public Agency (LPA) serves as the responsible agent for the project for purposes of the Federal Project Agreement.

Eligible Projects

The CMAQ funds may be used to establish new or expanded transportation projects or programs that reduce emissions, including capital investments in transportation infrastructure, congestion relief efforts, vehicle acquisitions, diesel engine retrofits, or other capital projects.

Operating projects or programs are also eligible, but are limited to new transit, commuter and intercity passenger rail services, intermodal facilities, travel demand management strategies, including traffic operation centers, inspection and maintenance programs, and the incremental cost of expanding these services. Check out a list of eligible project types here.

What the Program Provides

The CMAQ program provides 80% of total eligible project costs associated with non-infrastructure activities and operating costs; and preliminary development, detailed design, right of way acquisition, and construction costs for infrastructure type projects. The minimum local share is 20% and must be provided from local, state, or other non-federal sources. Costs associated with a non-CMAQ funded phase are not considered as part of the local share.

How to Apply for Funds

NOACA opens the program for applications once every two years. The next project solicitation will most likely occur in spring of 2021.

General information regarding the Federal CMAQ program guidance can be found on the Federal Highway Administration’s (FHWA) CMAQ program website.

Frequently Asked Questions about the CMAQ Program can be found here

If you have any questions, please email us at  

NOACA Vision Statement
NOACA will STRENGTHEN regional cohesion, PRESERVE existing infrastructure, and BUILD a sustainable, multimodal transportation system to SUPPORT economic development and ENHANCE quality of life in Northeast Ohio.