The Air Quality Subcommittee provides advice and policy recommendations to the Planning and Programming Committee with regard to environmental planning responsibilities.

Chair: Maribeth Feke, Director of Planning, GCRTA

Vice Chair: Jeff Brandon, Montville Township Trustee

Five-County Representation

  • Samuel Alai, Mayor, City of Broadview Heights
  • Jeff Brandon, Montville Township Trustee
  • Walter "Skip" Claypool, Geauga Couny Commissioner
  • John Hamercheck,  Lake County Commissioner
  • Ted Kalo, Lorain County Commissioner

City of Cleveland

  • David G. Hearne, Interim Commissioner, Cleveland Division of Air Quality 

Local Air Agencies

  • Bert Mechenbier, Air Pollution Control Supervisor, Lake County General Health District
  • Marvin Rogers, Chief of Air Monitoring, Cleveland Department of Public Health
  • Sam Rubens, Administrator, Akron Regional Air Quality Management District

Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT)

  • Melinda Bartizal, Transportation Planner, ODOT District 12

Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority (GCRTA)

  • Maribeth Feke, Director of Planning, GCRTA

Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (non-voting member)

  • Kurt Princic, Chief, Northeast District Office Ohio Environmental Protection Agency

Additional Member

  • Tim Fischer, Manager of the Division of Air Pollution Control, Northeast District Office, Ohio EPA