Geauga County Commissioner Mary E. Samide Elected NOACA Board President

NOACA Board of Directors elects 2014 officers

Friday, January 17, 2014

Media Contacts:
Brian Newbacher, Director of External Affairs, ext. 244,

CLEVELAND—At its meeting on Friday, Jan. 10, the Board of Directors of the Northeast Ohio Areawide Coordinating Agency (NOACA) elected Geauga County Commissioner Mary E. Samide as Board president for calendar year 2014. Commissioner Samide previously served as NOACA Board president in 2008.

“I am honored to serve as Board president,” said Samide. “As I have done before, I would like to visit every Board member in their own communities. It’s critical for the president to understand the local issues throughout the region because it’s not about just one, but about all of us in five counties.”

Samide has been a Geauga County commissioner since 2004. Previously, she was a Munson Township trustee for nine years. She was also a successful business owner for more than 20 years.

“Mary is the senior member of the Geauga County delegation. She holds NOACA accountable and gets things done. We are fortunate to have Commissioner Samide as Board president for 2014. She has the knowledge and experience to move us forward. She is a true leader,” says Grace Gallucci, NOACA executive director.

In addition to serving as NOACA’s Board president in 2008, Samide has also held the office of First Vice President at NOACA and has been a member of NOACA’s Executive Committee, Air and Water Quality Committees, and Transportation Advisory Council. She also has served on the Kent State Geauga Advisory Board, Cleveland Arts Partnership Council, American Red Cross, Chagrin Watershed Partners (as vice president), Geauga/Trumbull Solid Waste District board of directors, Geauga County Economic Development Partnership, and Geauga County Wetlands Mitigation Committee, among many others.

Samide holds associates and Bachelor of Arts degrees from Kent State University. She graduated from Kent summa cum laude with a concentration in computer science.

The complete slate of NOACA officers for 2014 includes:

Mary Samide, Geauga County Commissioner

First Vice President:
Ted Kalo, Lorain County Commissioner

Second Vice President:
Daniel P. Troy, Lake County Commissioner

Adam Friedrick, Medina County Commissioner

Assistant Secretary:
Robert E. Aufuldish, Lake County Commissioner

Assistant Secretary:
Kathleen Scheutzow, Brunswick Hills Township Trustee, Medina County

Ed FitzGerald, Cuyahoga County Executive

Assistant Treasurer:
Julius Ciaccia, Jr., Executive Director, Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District

Assistant Treasurer:
John D. Hunter, Mayor of Sheffield Village, Lorain County

Immediate Past Board of Directors’ President:
Valarie McCall, Chief of Government and International Affairs, City of Cleveland

* * *

CONNECT WITH NOACA | @noaca_mpo |

The Northeast Ohio Areawide Coordinating Agency (NOACA) is a transportation and environmental planning agency that represents state, county, city, village and township officials. Through its 45-member Board of Directors, NOACA addresses the transportation, air quality and water quality needs of Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain and Medina counties. NOACA and its partners cooperatively develop and implement plans to ensure that travel throughout the region is multimodal, safe, cost-effective and environmentally sound.

Last updated: 1/17/2014 9:52:12 AM